The riff gods are back! A little more than two years have passed since the great »Sword Songs« album was released, but GRAND MAGUS can never quench their thirst for action. Accordingly, the Heavy Metal giants started to develop new songs as fast as possible after their last record. Singer and guitarist JB points out their new way of working: “We decided to let go of the current philosophy to record drums first and then bass and then guitar etc. This time, we met up, jammed and created together during the last six months with the goal to record basic tracks live.“ Something, lovers of little details will realize, yet GRAND MAGUS haven’t lost their basic philosophy. 

»Wolf God« rises over the Heavy Metal scene majestically and lets the guitar riffs speak for themselves. The groove and heaviness that were featured on the successful predecessor can also be found on the new, ninth studio album which once again holds a number of future classics. This is joined by a superbly-placed JB whose voice hovers emotionally and variably over the strong and memorable instrumentals. The band’s new method of recording fits perfectly with their overall sound. By letting the music flow naturally the band have managed to craft melodies, riffs and rhythms that unite to forge overwhelming yet memorable hymns, which will find their place in the throne room of Metal history. Recorded in Sweetspot Studio in Sweden, together with producer Staffan Karlsson (ARCH ENEMY, FIREWIND, SPIRITUAL BEGGARS), the corner stone was laid for another triumphal procession. As the majority of the songs were recorded on the first take, they have an honest, diverse and yet down-to-earth sound that envelops the trio’s true power.


In their over 20 year career, the band from Stockholm, Sweden, has been eternalized in the Metal history and looks back on a treasury full of all-time Heavy Metal anthems. Their self-titled debut album »Grand Magus« (2001) started to stir up the underground and is now considered to be a cult favourite. But over the years, GRAND MAGUS introduced a penchant for classic Heavy Metal which combined with their inherent groove became the band’s signature sound – the first signs of this can be found on »Monument«  (2003) and »Wolf’s Return« (2005). Yet the breakthrough was their 2008 work »Iron Will« that took the fans’ heart by storm. In addition to the countless live shows, including a tour with legends ELECTRIC WIZARD and CATHEDRAL, it played a key part in the bands prominent rise to the forefront of the genre. »Hammer Of The North« (2010) continued with this momentum and the band toured with other scene legends: MOTÖRHEAD and Doro Pesch. The entry into the German album charts was inevitable. The same can be said for the three records that followed »The Hunt« (2012), »Triumph And Power« (2014) and »Sword Songs« (2016) – all albums that belong in any great record collection. It’s safe to say that the same can be said for GRAND MAGUS’s latest opus »Wolf God«.


WOLF GOD (2019 Nuclear Blast)
01. Gold And Glory
02. Wolf God
03. A Hall Clad In Gold
04. Brother Of The Storm
05. Dawn Of Fire
06. Spear Thrower
07. To Live And To Die In Solitude
08. Glory To The Brave
09. He Sent Them All To Hel
10. Untamed
SWORD SONGS (2016 Nuclear Blast)
01. Freja’s Choice
02. Varangian
03. Forged In Iron – Crowned In Steel
04. Born For Battle (Black Dog Of Brocéliande)
05. Master Of The Land
06. Last One To Fall
07. Frost And Fire
08. Hugr
09. Everyday There’s A Battle To Fight

Bonus Tracks (digipak only)

10. In For The Kill
11. Stormbringer (DEEP PURPLE cover)

TRIUMPH AND POWER (2014 Nuclear Blast)
1. On Hooves Of Gold
2. Steel Versus Steel
3. Fight
4. Triumph And Power
5. Dominator
6. Arv
7. Holmgång
8. The Naked And The Dead
9. Ymer
10. The Hammer Will Bite
11. Blackmoon
THE HUNT (2012, Nuclear Blast)
01. Starlight Slaughter
02. Sword Of The Ocean
03. Valhalla Rising
04. Storm King
05. Silver Moon
06. The Hunt
07. Son Of The Last Breath
Part I: Nattfödd
Part II: Vedergällning
08. Iron Hand
09. Draksådd
10. Silver Moon (Demo version)
11. Storm King (Demo version)
12. Sword Of The Ocean (Demo version)
1 – I, the Jury
2 – Hammer of the North
3 – Black Sails
4 – Mountains Be My Throne
5 – Northern Star
6 – The Lord of Lies
7 – At Midnight They’ll Get Wise
8 – Bond of Blood
9 – Savage Tales
10 – Ravens Guide Our Way
IRON WILL (2008)
1 – Like the Oar Strikes the Water
2 – Fear Is the Key
3 – Hövding
4 – Iron Will
5 – Silver into Steel
6 – The Shadow Knows
7 – Self Deceiver
8 – Beyond Good and Evil
9 – I Am the North
1 – Kingslayer
2 – Nine
3 – Blodörn
4 – Wolf’s Return
5 – Blood Oath
6 – Järnbörd
7 – Repay In Kind
8 – Hämnd
9 – Ashes
10 – Light Hater
11 – Wolf’s Return Pt.II
1 – Ulvaskall (Vargr)
2 – Summer Solstice
3 – Brotherhood of Sleep
4 – Baptised in Fire
5 – Chooser of the Slain (Valfader)
6 – Food of the Gods
7 – He Who Seeks… Shall Find
1 – Gauntlet
2 – Legion
3 – Never Learned
4 – Black Hound Of Vengeance
5 – Coat Of Arms
6 – Generator
7 – Wheel Of Time
8 – Lodbrok
9 – Black Hole
10 – Mountain Of Power


Management: Black Tooth Management at:


Images ©  by JensRydén Photography